British Curry Awards returns this November

Monday 27th November at The Battersea

It can be confirmed that nominations for the 13th British Curry Awards are closed, and that this year the event takes place on Monday 27th Nov 2017 at The Battersea Evolution.

Still unique and undisputed, the British Curry Awards often referred to as the curry industry’s ‘Oscars’ will showcase the curry industry which is still facing a huge staff crisis. It is an opportunity not just to reward and acknowledge success, but to provide a voice for the industry to lobby the Government.

Every year the BCA are attended by leading celebrities from the worlds of hospitality, sports, television and film, as well as leading political and business figures. Last year the BCA was honoured to have the presence of royalty, with the Duchess of York as a VIP guest.

Enam Ali MBE, founder of the BCA, says, “This is a crucial year for our business with a new government being formed in uncertain political times and Brexit negotiations getting underway. It is more important than ever before that we get our message across to those that matter, and the Awards are the perfect opportunity to do so.”

Plans are well advanced for this year’s event, which aims to surpass all others for style and glamour. Event producer Jeffrey Ali says, “We are looking forward to delivering another amazing and spectacular event this year. There are some surprises in store and you do not want to miss out on what is sure to be an evening that will not be forgotten in a hurry.”

Recognising the value of the curry industry on life in Britain, Prime Minister, Theresa May said via video message at last year’s event, “Today, curry is as close to this nation’s heart as fish and chips. Right now, there must be thousands of British families sitting down to a spicy meal at home and in local restaurants, and curry is as popular in Westminster as it is across the country. And what makes these awards so special, better than any Michelin star, better than any accolade, better than any critic’s writeup, is that they are voted for by the public. They are the restaurants loved by local communities the length and breadth of Britain.

“This evening is also a showcase for the talent, hard work and entrepreneurial spirit of Britain’s curry houses. Today, there are around 10,000 restaurants employing 100,000 staff, with an annual turnover of £4.3 billion. This represents a Great British success story, a terrific industry which creates jobs, promotes growth, contributes to the UK economy and raises monies for charities across Britain and around the world. This evening, let us celebrate the Great British Curry and say thank you for bringing people together over a shared love of spicy food. And let us also say thank you to the many heroes of the industry, without whom we would not have this celebration.”

For the third year in succession, British Curry Awards is sponsored by online booking site, Founder Shelim Hussain MBE said, “It is a great honour to be a part of a well-respected award ceremony that sets the benchmark for all others. These Awards celebrate the achievements of a significant industry within the UK and we are proud of the association.”

We advise everyone to book their seats early due to high demand, thank you.

Previously attended by...

In support of BBC Children in Need